Bridgestone supplies ECOPIA tires with ologic technology for 2017 Bridgestone World Solar Challenge

Bridgestone World Solar Challenge 20172017

Tokyo (June 5, 2017) – Bridgestone Corporation (Bridgestone) today announced the company will supply tires named “ECOPIA with ologic” to solar car teams participating in the 2017 Bridgestone World Solar Challenge listed in the table below. Bridgestone has supported the World Solar Challenge since 2013, supplying tires for the leading event and also serving as its title sponsor.

Bridgestone supplies tires to the teams below as of June 5, 2017.

Team Name Entrant Name Country
Adelaide University Solar Racing Team Adelaide University Australia
Apollo Solar Car Team National Kaohsiung University of Applied Sciences & St.John’s University Taiwan
Blue Sky Solar Racing University of Toronto Canada
Goko High School Goko High School Japan
Istanbul Technical University Solar Car Team (ITU SCT) Istanbul Technical University Turkey
Kogakuin University Solar Team Kogakuin University Japan
NITech Solar Racing Nagoya Institute of Technology Japan
Tokai University Tokai University Japan
University of Minnesota Solar Vehicle Project University of Minnesota United States
UNSW Solar Racing Team -SUNSWIFT UNSW Engineering Australia
Western Sydney University Solar Car Project Western Sydney University Australia
IVE Solar Car Team Hong Kong Institute of Vocational Education (IVE) Hong Kong

“Ecopia with Ologic” Tires for Solar Car

“Ecopia with ologic” is a highly fuel-efficient tire for solar cars designed with Bridgestone’s energy efficient tire technology, “ologic.” The large diameter of the tire reduces tire deformation and rolling resistance and aero-dynamic resistance is reduced due to its narrow tread width, which improves fuel efficiency of vehicles.

Ecopia Ologic Tires

Overview of 2017 Bridgestone World Solar Challenge

The Bridgestone World Solar Challenge is one of the world’s most well-known solar car events, and 2017 will mark the competition’s 30th anniversary. The race encompasses 3,000 kilometers on the Australian continent and will take place October 8-15, 2017.
1. Date     : October 8-15, 2017
2. Host Country  : Australia (Start: Darwin; Goal: Adelaide)
3. Host     : South Australian Tourism Commission
4. Race Classes  :


(1) Challenger Class
A race to be first in vehicles designed for speed; vehicles require four wheels and one driver.
(2) Cruiser Class
A race testing vehicles’ energy efficiency and practicality; vehicles must have four wheels and be able to be ridden by one driver and more than one passenger.
(3) Adventure Class
A race open to vehicles that do not meet the requirements to compete in the Challenger Class or Cruiser Class, such as cars based on the regulations of prior competitions.
Comments for this post are closed.